Underage & College DWI
Protecting Your Future After a DWI Arrest
No one wants to start out his or her life with a misdemeanor hanging over
his or her head. Unfortunately, a misdemeanor drunk driving conviction
- even one that occurred when you were in high school or college - will
continue to follow you when completing college or graduate school applications,
applying for a loan, seeking employment or pursuing other opportunities.
Don't Let an Underage DWI Arrest Follow You for the Rest of Your Life
At The Law Office of Kelley M. Enderley, PC, we help college students
and other underage drivers fight back when confronted with drunk driving
charges. Our Poughkeepsie underage DWI attorney knows the law and is confident
that she can help you beat this or minimize the consequences. Contact
our law firm for a free initial phone consultation.
Poughkeepsie and East Fishkill College DWI and Alcohol Defense Attorney
We have considerable experience representing college students and other
underage drivers who were arrested for DWI, DWAI or other alcohol offenses
in Dutchess, Ulster, Orange, Putnam and surrounding counties of New York.
Under New York's Zero Tolerance Laws, it is illegal for minors who
are under the age of 21 to drive with any detectable amount of alcohol
in their system. As such, underage drivers can face drunk driving consequences
with as little as .02 percent blood alcohol content (BAC) and can face
even more serious charges with as little as .05 percent BAC.
Driving after having consumed alcohol: If your BAC is above .02 percent but less than .07 percent, you may be
charged with a zero tolerance violation, which is a traffic offense. You
will be subject to an administrative hearing and may face a six-month
license suspension, a civil penalty of $125 and will be required to pay
$100 to get your license reinstated. The charge will remain on your record
for three years or until you are 21, whichever is longer.
Driving while ability impaired (DWAI): If your BAC is above .05 percent but is less than .07 percent, you
may be charged in criminal court for DWAI. If your BAC is above .07 percent
but less than .08 percent, the charge is automatically DWAI. If convicted
for DWAI, you will be subject to the same penalties as an adult and will
have a misdemeanor criminal conviction on your record.
Driving while intoxicated (DWI): If your BAC is above .08 percent, you can be charged in criminal court
for DWI. If convicted, you may be subjected to the same penalties as an
adult and will have a misdemeanor conviction on your criminal record.
When you or your minor child is facing such serious ramifications, it can
be overwhelming. It is important to realize that while the charges are
serious, this is not the end. There are defense tactics available. We
will work hard to help you avoid a misdemeanor DWAI/DWI conviction and
avoid or minimize any other collateral consequences of a drunk driving arrest.
A DWI and Alcohol Crime Defense Lawyer You Can Count On
Don't let a drinking and driving arrest destroy your life or your minor
child's life. Talk with an experienced Poughkeepsie underage DWI lawyer
about your options and how we can help. Call
e-mail us, to discuss your specific circumstances in a free phone consultation with
college DWI defense attorney Kelley M. Enderley.