Poughkeepsie and East Fishkill Driver's License Restoration Lawyer
If you have been cited for driving on a suspended license, you are caught
up in a nightmare that may continue to haunt you in many ways. The Law
Office of Kelley M. Enderley, PC can step in to fight for your driving
privileges and to avoid the collateral consequences of this serious offense.
Based in Poughkeepsie, we represent drivers pulled over in Hudson Valley
and Columbia County, as well as Ulster, Orange, Putnam and surrounding
counties of the Hudson Valley. We handle all traffic violations, including
driving on a suspended or revoked license.
Charged With Driving While Suspended?
Contact our law firm today to schedule a consultation. We are confident we can help you straighten
out this mess and avoid the worst penalties. Call 888-396-8007 or 877-518-4799
to talk with our Poughkeepsie lawyer.
Driving While Suspended License Violations
Depending on the circumstances and the underlying reason for suspension
or revocation, driving while suspended is usually charged as:
- Unlicensed operator, a minor violation
- Aggravated unlicensed operation (AUO), a misdemeanor or possibly a felony
Hudson Valley Lawyer for Aggravated Unlicensed Operation (AUO)
Aggravated unlicensed operation in the third degree is one of the most
commonly charged traffic offenses in New York. We have seen drivers jailed
for this, especially for repeat offenses. Our goal is to help you avoid
jail, major fines, additional license suspension and the criminal conviction.
Some of the consequences you could face if convicted for aggravated unlicensed
Aggravated unlicensed operation in the third degree: Anyone who drives without a valid license can face charges for aggravated
unlicensed operation in the third degree. This is true even for people
who were unaware, but should have had reason to know of the suspension.
If convicted, you could face a fine ranging from $200 to $500 and jail
time of up to 30 days.
Aggravated unlicensed operation in the second degree: Driving without a valid license becomes an even more serious offense when
you have had a prior conviction within the previous 18 months, your suspension
was the result of breath test refusal or failing a breath test or certain
other aggravating factors. Penalties for aggravated unlicensed operation
in the second degree can vary depending on the facts involved, but may
include a fine ranging from $500 to $1,000, jail time ranging from seven
days to 180 days, probation and other consequences.
Many people with a New York driver's license have their driving privileges
suspended without them knowing it because of a points suspension, lapsed
auto insurance, an unpaid speeding ticket or innocent reasons such as
a mix-up with credit card payment of a ticket. Only when they are pulled
over by a state trooper do they learn that their driving privileges have
Trial attorney Kelley M. Enderley has extensive experience with these cases.
She will examine grounds to challenge the underlying suspension or the
state's presumption that you knew or should have known your license
was suspended. She will exhaust every avenue to get the charge dismissed
or reduced to the noncriminal violation, and she will address the suspension
itself to get your license restored as soon as possible.
Suspended or Revoked Driver's License? Fight Penalties.
e-mail us, to discuss your specific circumstances and schedule a consultation. In
most cases, you will not need to appear in court. We take care of everything for you.